Introductions

Standard

I’ve created more blogs than I can count since I was about twelve or thirteen. Introduction posts are always the hardest for me, never really been able to get the hang of them after all these years…

But let’s get on with introductions, shall we? Hi, hello, nice to meet you and your lovely face. I go by MK here and I’m currently a student at Kent State University studying Special Education with a concentration in mild/moderate reading and language arts. This has been a very recent change for me, I originally was in a more science/math heavy medical-y major but after my freshman year I was absolutely miserable since I am truly awful in actual medical things. Luckily for me I had been working in an amazing local elementary school that has some really great Special Ed resources for their students and I fell in love with everything to do with it.

So hopefully once my actual teaching classes start I’ll be able to stick with this major. Just like maintaining blogs, I can be absolutely horrendous to committing to actual real-life things. An absolutely wonderful trait for a possible future educator, I know (Insert copious amounts of sarcasm here if you haven’t already). But I am only nineteen and college is about exploring your interests,changing your major, and amassing staggering amounts of student debt, blah blah blah. I get it. I really do. And I absolutely adore the education I’m able to receive here, but decisions like this are absolutely terrifying for me because this is SUCH A BIG DECISION (yes, yelling was in fact necessary). But I do truly feel like this decision is a good one, especially since I’ve been gaining experience in this field in a near daily basis. And I absolutely adore what I do.

What else would you possibly want to learn about me in this lovely introductory post?

Well, I’m a huge book nerd. The amount of books I read while also working two jobs and being a full time student is kind of ridiculous. I’m sure part of the reason I’m just an average student is because I’d rather read something like Cloud Atlas than study the integumentary system. Probably because Fiction lets me live in the escapist world of the story, and also because who would honestly rather study the integumentary system? It’s skin. That’s it. So I say yes please to a generous helping of David Mitchell instead.

Going along the topic of being a book nerd, I’m an almost embarrassingly huge fan of Tolkein. To the point that I have planned my first tattoo to be the White Tree of Gondor. I can probably recite lines from all the movies, and I re-read all the books once every other year or so. I could go on about my love of Tolkein but that would take far too much of  this intro post, which is already up to about 500 words. When is an intro post too long? I honestly don’t know, but I probably should.

I’m dipping my toes in being a creator on Youtube, which has gone on the back burner since school has kept me insanely busy this year, and mostly make video letters to my best friend who lives in England while being artsy-fartsy and profound in my own ridiculous college student way. I also recently returned to writing and have been getting an increasing amount of positive feedback from humans around me. So maybe I’ll be writing publishable novels, poetry, or short stories in the future? That would be rad! I just need to commit to one thing and then do said thing until the thing is done. yes.

I think this is pretty good for an introductory post. I don’t wanna say anything like “this blog is a brand new start to a brand new me and I’m gonna change the world through the words I write here” because I’ve done that for literally every blog I’ve ever written. I dunno, I don’t wanna jinx anything and I just feel dishonest by saying that.

So… yeah! Consider yourself introduced! You’re welcome… or whatever.

Have a lovely day!

MK

Leave a comment